40 at 40: Women on TV that I fell in love with in the 70’s and 80’s

This may be the most profound writing I’ve ever done.

I don’t often look at how many blog hits I get.  But the biggest hits I got recently were from the 40 at 40 post “Books I wish I would have written but others have written (much!) better.” That got me thinking…what might top that?

How about TV girls I loved in the 70’s and 80’s?  This is far more compelling than a bunch of Christian books, right?  Plus, all of you who are my age can relate to the times when you mentioned an old TV show, and 25 year old friends looked at you blankly.  And I run the risk of more feedback from some of you who think this is territory a “pastor” shouldn’t stray in to.

Either way, help me prove that this kind of blog will NOT receive more hits than ones that I have written about suffering, spiritual growth, mission, or other topics by NOT re-tweeting, re-posting, or commenting.  This will assure that the world is a safe and decent place, filled with reflective people.

But, here we go:

Let’s do this as a Top 5:

At # 5 – Suzanne Somers from Three’s Company – Chrissy is who the other guys talked about, so I had to chime in too.  But, she lacked depth and characterization, something a 7-year old ought to know.

#4 – Pam from The Greatest American HeroConnie Sellecca – From 1981 to 1983, William Katt played Ralph Hinkley, perhaps the worst superhero ever to attempt to save humanity.  Pam saved the show.

#3 – Wonder Woman. Played by Lynda Carter, this superhero convinced all 7 year old boys that there really was an Amazon colony of women on Paradise Island located somewhere near Bermuda.

#2 – Stacy from TJ Hooker – Played by Heather Locklear,  Stacy showed that even though she was the Captain’s daughter, she was also a great police officer.  My sister said that her hair was “feathered,” whatever that means.

#1- Athena from Battlestar Galactica – Yes, sci-fi nerds, there was another Battlestar Galactica back in the 70’s, our television version of Star Wars.  And between the ages of 8 and 10, I became a fan not only of Apollo and Commander Adama, but of the beautiful Athena, my first love.  I include her picture to conclude this very deep and meaningful post:

~ by drchuckdegroat on August 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “40 at 40: Women on TV that I fell in love with in the 70’s and 80’s”

  1. wow, Chuck. Can’t really go with you on any of those (only since I didn’t watch T.J. Hooker).
    Farrah, Jackie Bissett, Sally Field, Pat Benatar perhaps

  2. I have to agree with Heather Locklear, boy she was a good cop.

Leave a Reply

 
